PhD students and committees

PhD students

  • 25 september 2018: María Óskarsdóttir, KU Leuven, FEB, ‘Leveraging Mobile Phone Data and Social Network Analytics for Profit Driven Modeling’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 26 januari 2018: Jasmien Lismont, KU Leuven, FEB, ‘From bit to business: Addressing managerial and practical challenges of analytics adoption’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 6 december 2016: Johannes De Smedt, KU Leuven, FEB, Studies on declarative process modeling and its relation to procedural techniques’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 31 oktober 2014: Seppe vanden Broucke, KU Leuven, FEB, ‘Advances in Process Mining: Artificial negative events and other techniques’, Bart Baesens (promotor), Jan Vanthienen (co-promotor)
  • 27 mei 2013: Filip Caron, KU Leuven, FEB, ‘Business process analytics for enterprise risk management and auditing’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 23 oktober 2012: Jochen De Weerdt, KU Leuven, FEB, ‘Business process discovery: new techniques and applications’, Bart Baesens (promotor), Jan Vanthienen (co-promotor)
  • 16 september 2009: Stijn Goedertier, K.U.Leuven,ETEW, ‘Declarative techniques for modeling and mining business processes’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 8 januari 2008: David Martens, K.U.Leuven, ETEW, ‘Building Acceptable Classification Models for Financial Engineering Applications’, promotors B. Baesens, J. Vanthienen
  • 13 juni 2007: Johan Huysmans, K.U.Leuven, ETEW, ‘Comprehensive Predictive Models: New Methods and Insights’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 24 september 2003: Bart Baesens, K.U.Leuven, ETEW,‘Developing Intelligent Systems for Credit Scoring using Machine Learning Techniques’, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 12 november 2002: Christophe Mues, K.U.Leuven,ETEW, ‘On the use of decision tables and diagrams in knowledge modeling and verification ‘, promotor J. Vanthienen
  • 7 april 1998: Geert Wets, ‘Decision Tables in Knowledge-Based Systems: Adding Knowledge Discovery and Fuzzy Concepts to the Decision Table Formalism’, T.U. Eindhoven, (promotors Prof. dr. H. Timmermans (T.U.Eindhoven), Prof. dr. J. Vanthienen)
  • 8 juli 1996: Carine Van den Acker, K.U.Leuven,ETEW, ‘Belief-function Theory and its Application to the Modeling of Uncertainty in Financial Statement Auditing’, promotor J. Vanthienen

External PhD committees

  • Jose Miguel Pérez (University of Sevilla, 2018)
  • Felix Mannhardt (TU Eindhoven, 2018)
  • F.A. Bukhsh (University of Tilburg, 2015)
  • Yan Tang, On Semantic Decision Tables, (promotor Prof. Dr. Robert Meersman); VUB, Oct 20th, 2009
  • Mieke Jans, Internal Fraud Risk Reduction by Data Mining and Process Mining: Framework and Case Study, (promotor Prof. dr. N. Lybaert), Uhasselt, Oct 9th, 2009
  • Irene Vanderfeesten, Product-Based Design and Support of Workflow Processes, (promotor Prof. Dir. Ir. W.M.P. van der Aalst), TU/e Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Feb 3rd, 2009.
  • mei 2002:doctoraat Tony Van Gestel, ‘From Linear to Kernel Based Methods in Classification, Modelling and Prediction’, K.U.Leuven, Toegepaste Wetenschappen (member of the jury: Prof. dr. J. Vanthienen)
  • 5 juli 1999: doctoraat Wilfried Lemahieu, ‘Improved Naviation and Maintenance through an Object-Oriented Approach to Hypermedia Modelling’, K.U.Leuven, (member of the jury: Prof. dr. J. Vanthienen)
  • 10 september 1998: doctoraat Frank Witlox, ‘Modelling Site Selection: A Relational Matching Approach Based on Fuzzy Decision Tables’, T.U.Eindhoven, (member of the promotion committee: Prof. dr. J. Vanthienen)
  • Lid van de doctorale commissie van het proefschrift ‘Structured approach to information systems modelling’, Wu Guang, K.U.Leuven, june 1995
  • Lid van de doctorale commissie van het proefschrift ‘Design of Fuzzy Relational Databases based on Fuzzy Functional Dependency’, Guoqing Chen, K.U.Leuven, 4 december 1992
  • Lid van de doctorale commissie van het proefschrift ‘Hierarchical Credibility Techniques’, T. Bauwelinckx, K.U.Leuven, 7 januari 1992
  • Opponens bij doctoraal proefschrift ‘In de Regel Beslist’, Een beschouwing overregelgeving met behulp van beslissingstabellen, R. Overhoff & L. Molenaar, R.U.Leiden, 1 mei 1991
%d bloggers like this: